A person is eligible for a Texas Concealed Handgun Permit license if the person:
- is a legal resident of this state for the six-month period preceding the date of the application under this subchapter...
- is at least 21 years of age; or at least 18 if you are a member or veteran of the US Armed Forces, Reserves or National...
- has not been convicted of a felony;
Are You required to carry ID in Texas?
Yes. You must provide your name, date of birth, and address. There is no requirement to provide that information in any particular form, such as a license or identification card. Again, in Texas, if you are not under arrest, you do not have to identify yourself.
How to get a concealed carry permit in Texas?
Texas Concealed Carry
- at least 21 years old
- can legally possess a firearm
- have not been convicted within the past five years of misdemeanor bodily assault causing injury, deadly conduct, terroristic threat, or disorderly conduct (display or discharge) of a firearm
What are the requirements for concealed carry license in Texas?
BATON ROUGE, La. (KTAL/KMSS) — Two bills making their way through the 2021 Louisiana Legislative session would eliminate the permit requirement for concealed carry in the state.
How do you get concealed carry permit in Texas?
- Online Class. Starting in 2017, the Texas License to Carry class can be taken online through an approved online course provider, such as OnlineTexasLTC.com.
- In-Person Class. The online class and proficiency demonstration together generally cost more than an in-person class.
- Shooting Qualification. ...
Who can carry a firearm under the new law?
Laws regarding firearms can be complex. We urge you to speak with an attorney if you aren't sure if you are prohibited from carrying a firearm. As librarians, we cannot help you determine whether you are legally allowed to carry or possess a firearm.
Did the new law expand gun rights to anyone who was previously prohibited?
This bill does not extend the right to carry a firearm for anyone who was already barred from possessing a firearm under state and federal law, according to Section 2, subsection (3):
Can I carry a gun anywhere in Texas?
Firearms are always restricted in certain places, like schools, correctional facilities, secured areas of airports, etc. HB 1927 updated the list of places where guns are prohibited for anyone carrying a firearm rather than just license holders.
Does my gun need to be in a holster?
A person in Texas must carry a handgun in a holster. Previously handguns were required to be in a belt or shoulder holster, but HB 1927 removed this requirement.
Can I still get a License to Carry (LTC)?
HB 1927 did not repeal the LTC program, and Texans who wish to get a license may still apply for one with the Texas Department of Public Safety. Getting an LTC may have other benefits, like allowing the licensee to carry in states that have reciprocity agreements with Texas.
How old do you have to be to get a gun license in Texas?
Applying for a handgun license. To get a Texas license to carry (LTC) a handgun, you must: Be 21 or older unless active duty military. Meet federal qualifications to purchase a handgun. You cannot apply for a handgun license if you: Are guilty of a felony charge. Are guilty of misdemeanor charges.
How old do you have to be to be a gun instructor in Texas?
There are certain rules for becoming a handgun safety instructor . Approved, accepted handgun instructors and online course providers must: Be at least 21, 18 if active-duty military. Meet federal rules to buy a handgun. Be approved by Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) as a firearm instructor.
What is the training required for a gun license?
Handgun license training. You must attend in-person or online classroom training with a certified instructor. Classroom training will cover: Laws on weapons and the use of deadly force. Handgun use and safety, including controlling and securing handguns. Non-violent arguments.
How to become a firearm instructor in Texas?
Be approved by Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) as a firearm instructor. Be approved by the National Rifle Association as a firearm instructor. Prove that you graduated from a certified, handgun instructor school. Submit a completed application. Pay the fees.
What is the Texas Department of Public Safety?
Texas Handgun License. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for licensing and monitoring Texans who choose to carry a handgun. Learn how to apply for a license, receive proper training, and more below. Apply for or renew handgun license.
What is the Texas law on carrying a gun?
General Restrictions on the Carry of Firearms. Generally, Texas requires individuals to obtain a License to Carry (LTC) in order to carry handguns either openly or concealed. See other pages of this guide for more information on licenses to carry firearms and restrictions on felons.
What is unlawful carrying?
This section, "Unlawful Carrying Weapons," describes when it is unlawful to carry certain weapons. It contains exceptions relating to handguns in certain motor vehicles and watercraft and under specific circumstances — provisions enacted in 2007 by House Bill 1815, sometimes referred to as the Motorist Protection Act.
What is trespassing with a concealed firearm?
These statutes set out the offense of trespassing with an openly carried or concealed firearm for those who have "received notice" that firearms are prohibited on the property. These statutes also set out signage requirements for property owners who wish to restrict the carry of firearms on their property.
Can a church license holder carry a gun on church property?
In this opinion, the Texas Attorney General concluded: "Unless a church provides effective oral or written notice prohibiting the carrying of handguns on its property, a license holder may carry a handgun on church property as the law otherwise allows." It also interprets 2017 amendments to the Private Security Act that exempt religious institutions from certain fees for establishing volunteer security services.
States That Honor Texas Concealed Carry Permits (Residents Only)
For non-resident permits and other states, click on the image to view our Concealed Carry Maps.
Texas Concealed Handgun License Information
Texas is a Shall Issue State and issues Concealed Handgun Licenses to residents of Texas and non-residents.
Have a Question?
Do you have a question that we haven’t answered? Contact us here, and we’ll do our best to find you an answer.
DPS administers the Handgun Licensing Program under the authority of the Texas Government Code Chapter 411, Subchapter H. DPS licenses individuals to carry handguns within Texas, read more…
LAWS AND REGULATIONS
Enabling statutes, administrative rules, and related information may be found here.
LICENSING AND REGISTRATION
Application and renewal instructions and related information may be found here.
Contact us for questions, to submit documents, to file a complaint and more…
Open carry makes job more dangerous for law enforcement, officials say
Earlier this year, Texas law enforcement officials held a news conference in Austin to oppose the so-called "constitutional carry" legislation. They included Garcia, the Dallas police chief, and Doug Griffith, president of the Houston Police Officers' Union.
Research shows open carry can increase violent behavior generally
Mass shootings in 2019 at a Walmart in El Paso and in a shooting spree around Midland and Odessa left 30 people dead and dozens wounded, and they prompted Abbott and Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick to briefly consider a gun control proposal that would make it harder for Texans to buy a firearm.
Preemption laws are part of the problem, experts say
In 2013, a group of mothers who were volunteering with Moms Demand Action was having lunch at a Dallas-area restaurant when they were confronted by a group of 40 men openly carrying long guns, Watts said.
Do you need a permit to buy a gun in Texas?
There’s no need to apply for a permit to purchase a handgun in the state of Texas. However, you do have to be at least 21 years of age to do so. Additionally, you don’t need an owner license in Texas to legally possess a firearm, but you do have to meet the requirements that go along with being allowed to legally purchase a firearm in Texas. These include:
Do you need a license to carry a gun in Texas?
According to the Texas Department of Public Safety, you’ll need a license to carry to legally carry your handgun. Texas is a concealed carry and open carry state, as long as you possess a valid LTC. However, you can possess a loaded firearm without a license if you’re passing through Texas as long as it’s in your vehicle or watercraft. To obtain a concealed handgun license (LTC/CHL) you must be 21 years of age or older (or 18, if you’re an active member of the military). The application for a license to carry is conveniently accessible online in Texas.