how to get a marriage license

by Meta Satterfield II Published 1 year ago Updated 10 months ago

  1. Fill out and sign a marriage license application.
  2. Present valid identification with proof of age.
  3. The marriage license fee is $60.
  4. Applicants who have divorced must provide the date the divorce was finalized upon applying for a marriage license.

How much does a marriage license cost in New Jersey?

$28Fees at a GlanceMarriage/Civil Union License Application$28Domestic Partnership Registration$28

How much is a marriage license Indiana?

The marriage license fee is $25.00 if one or both parties are Indiana residents and $65.00 for out-of-state residents. Some offices also charge an additional document fee of $4.00. Each copy of the Certified Marriage License (required for name change at BMV, SSN, etc.) is also $4.00.

How much does a marriage license cost in PA?

Couples are required to pay an $80 fee at the time of application (plus an additional charge if previously divorced). This fee must be paid in cash. You may pick up or have your license mailed to you in 3 days. It is only valid for 60 days.

How long does it take to get a marriage license in NJ?

There is a 72-hour waiting period before the license is issued. The waiting period begins when the application is filed with the Local Registrar. There is no 72-hour waiting period for a remarriage; however, you must bring a certified copy of your existing marriage.

How long does it take to get marriage license in Indiana?

In the State of Indiana, the marriage license can be issued on the same day of application. There is no waiting period. Both applicants must appear at the Clerk's Office in person to complete the application. Once issued, the license is valid for 60 days.

Who can legally marry a couple in Indiana?

The following persons are authorized to conduct a valid marriage ceremony in Indiana: A member of the clergy of a religious organization, including a minister, a priest, a bishop, an archbishop, or a rabbi; A judge; A mayor, within the mayor's county.

How long does it take to get marriage license in PA?

Pennsylvania law requires a three-day waiting period between the date applicants apply for a Marriage License and when the license may be issued. If applying on Monday, the license will be ready on Thursday. If applying on Tuesday, the license will be ready on Friday.

Can you apply for a marriage license online in PA?

Applying for a Marriage License All marriage license applications will be online and finalized during a WEBEX video conference. Applicants may login from different locations. Your payment will show as pending until your application is accepted.

How do I get a marriage license in PA with Covid 19?

Apply for your license at City Hall Both applicants must appear together in Room 413 City Hall to apply for the marriage license. Also, both applicants must wear a face mask in City Hall to abide by COVID-19 health and safety rules.

How much is a courthouse wedding in NJ?

New Jersey marriage license fee is $28. Legal marriage age is 18. No blood test or residency requirements. 72 hour waiting period.

Can I get married online in NJ?

Yes. The application may be found at: While the couple may complete their marriage or civil union license application in advance of their appointment with the local registrar, the local registrar must observe the couple and the couple's witness signing the application.

Can you get married the same day in New Jersey?

Only one marriage license may be granted from a marriage application. If the license expires before being used, a new application must be made and another $28 fee remitted. The only exception to this requirement is in the case where a civil and religious ceremony are to be performed on the same day.

What do you need for a marriage license in Indiana?

To be married in Indiana, you must have a marriage license and meet the following requirements:Age: Be at least 18 years old. A 17-year-old must get permission from both parents to be married. ... Identification, proof of residency: Provide a form of identification and proof of residency.

Do you need a witness to get married in Indiana?

Indiana: Witnesses are no longer required by Indiana law. Iowa: You need to have one (1) witness who is over the age of 18 with you when you apply for the marriage license. The applicants and witness must have a photo I.D.

How long is common law marriage in Indiana?

Most people think Indiana allows common law marriages, when a couple who has lived together a certain number of years hold themselves out as being married legally. However, Indiana doesn't recognize a common law marriage unless entered before 1958; which would be extremely rare today.

Can you get married without a ceremony?

A marriage without out one is null and void. There must be an actual marriage ceremony. There is no specific form or religious rite required for the marriage vows, but the law is clear on what the ceremony must include.

How do I get a marriage license?

Before you can get a marriage license, you will need to gather together all of the appropriate paperwork necessary for the application. The paperwork and other items you may need to bring will vary from state to state and can vary depending on your legal status and age. The most basic requirements for marriage license application are: 1 Your state-issued identification card or driver’s license 2 Your social security card and/or social security number 3 Your birth certificate 4 Some proof of residency 5 Blood or medical test

When do you get a marriage certificate?

The certificate of marriage comes after the wedding ceremony has taken place.

What is the course?

If you feel disconnected or frustrated about the state of your marriage but want to avoid separation and/or divorce, the course meant for married couples is an excellent resource to help you overcome the most challenging aspects of being married.

Who is Mary Fisher?

Mary Fisher is a writer experienced with helping couples understand marriage, love and relationships. She completed her studies in 2011 and is currently involved in writing articles on intimacy, relationships and family.

What is a marriage license?

A marriage license is basically your permit for eternal love—the legal confirmation that you and your partner are free and eligible to marry one another. Sure, it's paperwork, but it's still exciting (not to mention necessary). So where do you even start? The internet will likely be your best bet here.

How long is a marriage license valid?

Also, most marriage licenses are only valid for a window of time—anywhere between 10 days and a year— during which you must have the ceremony, sign the license (together with your officiant) and file for a certified license and marriage certificate.

How to get married in California?

California Marriage - General Information 1 The attorney-in-fact must personally appear at the County Clerk’s Office with the party who is not stationed overseas and POA that is acknowledged by a notary or witnessed by two officers of the United States Armed Forces. Copies of the form, including by facsimile, are not acceptable. 2 The POA shall state the full given names at birth, or by court order, of the parties to be married, and that the POA is solely for the purpose of authorizing the attorney-in-fact to obtain a marriage license on the person’s behalf and participate in the solemnization of the marriage. 3 The original POA shall be a part of the marriage certificate upon registration. Additional information can be obtained from the County Clerk or State Registrar’s Office.

What is a magistrate?

Any of the following judges or magistrates of the United States. A justice or retired justice of the United States Supreme Court. A judge or retired judge of a court of appeals, a district court, or a court created by an act of Congress the judges of which are entitled to hold office during good behavior.

What is POA in a marriage?

The POA shall state the full given names at birth, or by court order, of the parties to be married, and that the POA is solely for the purpose of authorizing the attorney-in-fact to obtain a marriage license on the person’s behalf and participate in the solemnization of the marriage.

Can you marry by proxy in California?

Marriage by proxy is NOT allowed in California. Family Code, Section 420(a), requires the two parties, marriage officiant and witness if applicable be physically present together in the same location for the marriage to be performed.

Do you need a blood test to get a marriage license in California?

Blood tests are NOT required to obtain a marriage license in California. Both parties must appear in person and bring valid picture identification to the County Clerk’s Office to apply for a marriage license in California.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Michigan?

Michigan Marriage License. If you're getting married in Michigan, you must first apply for a marriage license. It'll cost you $20.00 to $30.00 (based on residency), and you'll have to use it within 33 days. See FAQ Offices.

Where can I get married in Michigan?

Otherwise, you'll have to marry in the county where you purchased the marriage license.

Where to Apply

You must apply for an Illinois marriage license at the county clerk's office in the county where the marriage ceremony will take place.


An Illinois marriage license costs between $15 and $75, depending on the county.


Your marriage license may only be used in the county where you apply, which must be the county where the marriage ceremony will occur.


The marriage license application asks for your name, residence, date and place of birth, race, gender, occupation, marital history, education history, social security number, and parents' addresses, birth names, and birthplaces.


You and your future spouse must apply together and in person. Absentee forms do not exist.

Waiting Period

You'll receive your marriage license immediately. The one-day waiting period has been suspended on May 1, 2020 via executive order 2020-36 and extended until September 18, 2021 via executive order 2021-19.


Your marriage license will expire 61 days after issuance, which works out to 60 days plus the one-day waiting period.

How to get a marriage license?

How to apply for a marriage license. Complete the marriage license application form. You may also get an application form at the Local Registrar’s office. Do not sign the marriage application form before going to the Local Registrar. You must sign the application, under oath, in the presence of the issuing authority. Top ^.

Where to apply for marriage license in New Jersey?

Apply for the marriage license in the New Jersey municipality where either party resides. The license is valid throughout New Jersey. If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, submit the application in the municipality where the marriage ceremony will be performed. In this case, the license is only valid in the issuing municipality.

How long is a marriage license valid?

The marriage license application is valid for six months from the date accepted, unless the Registrar has given prior approval to extend the validity of the application to a maximum of one year. Only one marriage license may be granted from a marriage application.

Have questions?

Visit Marriage License Application FAQs to get answers to common questions.

If you need help

We offer access to technical support if you need it while completing the online application. We also provide answers to general, nonlegal questions about the marriage license application process.

Technical support

If you need technical support while filling out the online application, contact:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9